Twenty-Something Angst: Travel Edition

Good Morning, Friends!

You know what I miss? Traveling.  I miss the act of seeing new places and meeting new people.  You know what I don’t miss?  The actual travel part.  And the days leading up to the travel part.  Particularly the airport part.

Remember when I went to Peru over a month and a half ago?

IMG_2956

*cue tears* It’s been SO LONG and I miss it every day.  I actually have this picture up in my cube at work to remind myself what I’m working for – to send myself all over the world.

Well, you remember how I wrote about all the friends I didn’t expect to make while I was in Peru?  And how I really fell in love with them as much as I fell in love with Peru?  And how I miss them a lot?

fullsizeoutput_c1c

Well, I’m about to turn that frown upside down –

I’M GOING TO VISIT!

No, no.  I’m not going back to Peru. Unfortunately.  And I’m not going for three weeks, I don’t have that much vacation time at work. (I currently barely have any vacation time at work… I haven’t been with the company long enough to earn anything.  The traveler in me is feeling incredibly trapped.)

I’m going to Canada this weekend!  Calgary, specifically. It happens to be one of my Canadian friends’ birthdays at the same time as the Calgary Stampede. Two birds, one stone.

Bex, don’t you live in the South? Why are you going all the way to Canada for a stampede???

Believe it or not, I’ve never been to a rodeo and I’ve spent almost all my life in the South.  But why not make my first rodeo experience also the first time I’m in real Canada?

What do you mean by “real Canada”?

I’ve been to Niagara Falls with my family when I was 19.  I got my first legal drink across the border on that trip.  Niagara Falls doesn’t really count as real Canada though because it was so touristy and really felt like I was just in a weird northern whirlpool of US/Canada tourist trap.  Like a Northern Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg if any of you have ever been there.  Lots of Putt Putt and neon signs and ice cream and expensive food.  But we did take some fun pictures!

Back to today – I’m writing this blog on Wednesday (pre-writing is NOT cheating!) because I’m supposed to pack tonight.  My plane leaves tomorrow for my fun four-day weekend trip to the Canada!

I don’t know if I’m more excited about going to Canada and seeing my friends or if I’m more stressed about the packing and the airport.  I don’t know why airports make me so nervous, they always have.  I’m hoping the more I travel, the less nervous I’ll be.  To combat this, I’ve been making lists on lists on lists on lists.  If I make all the lists, hopefully, I won’t forget anything. I keep having a dream that I’ve forgotten my passport… Yikes.

I really find that the lists help.  Breaking hard things up into smaller projects is always a good idea.  If you feel daunted or nervous, just try to take is all one step at a time.  You can do anything for 20 seconds. You can take that next step.  One step, one breath, one line item at a time.  You got this.

I really can’t wait to see this girl though!

IMG_3651

Happy Birthday, Melissa ❤

Be sure to check out next week’s post for my experiences at the Calgary Stampede!

Have a good week, eh? 😉

x-bex-1

One thought on “Twenty-Something Angst: Travel Edition

  1. Pingback: Bex and Mel take Calgs | X. Bex

Leave a Reply

