Behind the Curtain

Hi Guys,

 

This week, I want to give you a little sneak peek behind the curtain of my Blog.

I’ve been writing weekly blog posts for 6 months now – Isn’t that crazy? This is my 28th published post on this blog and it feels like just yesterday I was sitting on my bed, watching the rare NC snow and deciding to write my own blog.  I can’t take all the credit here either, I’ve had help along the way.

So, for this post, I want to thank those people hidden in the background that have been a huge help for the past six months.

 

My Inspiration

Big thanks to Daisy and Meg, two wonderful ladies whose blogs inspired me to start my own.  Thanks for giving me tips on how to start, going on adventures with me, proofreading and editing, and being a soundboard for all the ideas (even the stupid ones).  Without these two, I can guarantee there would be a whole lot more typos in my blog posts with a lot of boring content.

If you’re interested, you can find Daisy’s blog here and Meg’s blog here.  They’re wonderful.

 

My First-Lookers

Perhaps the two people who get the least amount of praise here – my friends Dillon and Mike.  These two are often the first people to see my blog, a lot of times before it’s even published.  I can’t tell you the number of times I’ll get a text from one of them with a nice compliment about the post which is, more often than not, accompanied by a type correction or an ask for clarification.  In addition to going on adventures with me, and encouraging me to keep at it, these two gentlemen just make the blog better with each sentence they read.

See that?  They probably read all of these sentences already – I’m sure the blog is already exponentially better than it originally was.

 

My Adventure Pals

Thank you to any of my friends that have agreed to go on some sort of wild adventure with me for my blogging purposes.  Thanks to people like my friend Brian who was the pioneer of CLT Adventures with Bex, and we still love him even though he moved away.

We miss you, Brian…

I miss him too, friends.

 

My People

Thanks, most of all, to all of you.  When I started writing this blog, I really wasn’t expecting anyone to read it.  I approached this idea with the accepted motivation that I was writing for myself and if only 5 people read it (three of those people being my family) that would be okay with me.  Here we are 6 months later and my blog has had over 1,200 visitors and average 57 views per post WHICH IS A WHOLE LOT MORE THAN 5.  It’s nuts.  I have readers in 29 different countries from all over the world.  I am so in awe of how this little blog has grown in only 6 months.

 

At first, this blog was a little corner of the internet that wasn’t much.  A simple place for me to write and a couple of people occasionally read it.  But now it’s bigger than I could have imagined it would ever be.

Pick that thing that you’ve been wanting to try and commit to it.  Try it for a good six months and see what happens. Let me know what you’re trying, I’d love to hear about it and definitely keep me updated to see how it goes.  You never know what something might be if you don’t try.

 

Until next week –

x-bex-1

One thought on “Behind the Curtain

Leave a Reply

