#DresstoImpress

Hi Guys,

Wow, Bex… Cutting it kind of close for this week’s post, aren’t we?

Yea. Well.  I wish I could tell you I was off doing something incredible, like gallivanting over glaciers or wandering through the wilderness.  But I wasn’t. I didn’t get out of bed until 5 pm today and then had some family things to do, so.  Here we are.  Practically Monday… Oops.

 

Let me tell you a little bit about my week last week.  I decided I was going to run a little experiment – You know all those articles that say “I let my mom/grandmother/boyfriend/blind neighbor from upstairs dress me for a week and…”?  I tried my own version.

#DresstoImpress

For a whole week, I had to wear either a dress or a skirt to work. By the end, I wanted to see if I felt different or if other people were different.  Let us explore my week.

 

Monday

IMG_3895

Day one.  Have I mentioned that I hate dresses?  And that since it’s a pretty consistent 80°F out, the office I work in is kept at the same temperature as Antarctica?

Monday I felt like a cheerleader.  I always feel like a cheerleader in this dress, like one of those old-fashioned conservative ones.  And of course, the Vans.  Sorry Mom, I’m not 100% ready to fully embrace the “I’m an attractive girl, look at how cute I look” thing yet.

 

Tuesday

IMG_3901

I wore my absolutely favorite TJ Maxx buy on day 2.  The pattern feels a little retro and funky.  LOVE.

The People have begun to notice.  One of my coworkers actually asked if I was seriously wearing a dress two days in a row.  The SCANDAL.

 

Wednesday

IMG_3908

DAISIES ALL DAY, BABY.  I’ve loved this dress for forever.  One of the best things about it is that it’s a maxi dress so it’s like a built-in blanket for your legs.  And I didn’t have to shave.  Double win.  Rocking the Vans again today – I can’t wear floral AND fancy shoes… The people at work (and my mom) might just die of shock!

 

Thursday

IMG_3918

Version two of the cheerleader dress.  This one is slightly better because it has pockets AND I don’t have to wear a bra with it.  My office was exceptionally cold on Day four though, I had to commandeer a fleece blanket from a coworker.  (He’s not getting it back).

 

Friday

IMG_3932

LAST DAY OF #DresstoImpress. WOOHOO. I had just gotten my tattoo, and most of my dresses/sweaters had sleeves that were too long and I couldn’t quite reach my tattoo to keep it clean during the day so I bent the rules a little.  White T and a cute black skirt with a pair of new Looney Tunes High-Top Converse. (I’m in love.)

 

Results

A whole week’s worth of dresses (and a skirt) and did I notice anything?

Getting dressed in the morning was easier – I didn’t have to worry about matching anything.  The hardest part of most of my whole week was picking out what color sweater to wear with the black and white dress on Monday.  I did feel a need to wear makeup all week since I was wearing dresses, so that was kind of an oddity for me since I don’t usually wear makeup during the week unless I have to.  I also tried to keep my leg hair decently under control, however, it’s blonde so no one probably knew any better anyway.

Did I feel any different though?  I think this tweet from Day 4 really sums it up:

Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 11.57.39 PM

I will say, it was something different. This time, it didn’t really make a lasting difference for me.  Maybe the next time I try something new, I’ll fall in love with the new thing and I won’t know how I lived my life before I did it.

I would like to encourage you to try something new.  Give it a week.  See if you like it.  If you don’t, what is a week? 7 days?  You have plenty of weeks left to dress the old way or eat the old way or wash your hair the old way.  I don’t know – there are plenty of things out there to try!  Just be sure to do it in a healthy and safe manner.  Don’t go around saying I told you to try crazy sh*t.  I did NOT say that.

And sometimes to change your life, you have to try to change the small things. Like wearing a dress or skirt to work every day.  It doesn’t always work, but at least we can say we tried.

 

Until next week,x-bex-1

2 thoughts on “#DresstoImpress

  1. Enjoyed your blog! Can’t wait to see what’s next! Also you need to embrace the “I’m an attractive girl, look at how cute I look” thing. You are Beautiful! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

