Oops, I did it again – Tattwo

Oops, I did it again

I got some art

Tattooed on my skin

Sorry, Momma.

Oops, I think I’m in love

Can’t wait for the next one-

I’ve got tattoo fever.

-My rewrite of Britney Spears’ “Oops!… I Did It Again”

 

I’ve previously mentioned that I already have a tattoo.  It’s a quote and I love it and ever since I got it, I’ve wanted another one.  I first told myself that I needed to wait 18 months to make sure that I really love ink and that I really want a second one.  Well, 18 months came and went and I knew I wanted another tattoo, I just wasn’t sure what I wanted.

I thought I wanted a beautiful lion with a flowing mane, but the artist I approached about doing it was a little bit rude and he didn’t make me comfortable about it at all.  If you ever feel uncomfortable about someone putting something permanent on your skin, please walk away.  I walked away from the artist and my deposit.  I’d rather lose the money than have something I wasn’t in love with inked on my skin – especially since he wasn’t willing to work with me on it.  

Since then, I’ve had a bit of a sour taste in my mouth regarding getting another tattoo.  I was a little spooked.  I didn’t want to try another artist and have him or her act the same way when I asked for alterations in a design or asked them to move the stencil a little before starting the tattooing process.  So, two years have passed since my first tattoo and it’s about time.

I got my second tattoo this past Thursday.  I went to Immortal Images in CLT and Lee Greene was AWESOME.

 

Lee & Immortal Images

I first heard about Immortal Images and Lee from a friend of a friend who has gotten all six of his tattoos done with this artist.  I figure, if this guy can get six tattoos done by the same artist, the artist must be pretty good! So, I thought I’d check it out.

fullsizeoutput_df3

Immortal Images is a cool place.  The outside is this really beautiful orange color and the inside a deep purple (that I was seriously loving – YES PURPLE).  When my Dad and I walked in for the first time earlier this month, I was immediately more comfortable than I was when I got my first tattoo.  This is what a tattoo shop should look and feel like – brightly lit, clean, colorful, creative, and most importantly – friendly.

Lee was also a really cool dude.  He was really friendly when I first came in and was more than willing to move the ink stencil on my arm before he tattooed it.  I felt like a little bit of a pain in the a** when I asked him to move it, but he was more than happy to do it.  He even confirmed the whole

“It’s a very permanent thing going on your body. We want you to be happy with it.”  

Lee has been tattooing for 17 years – after tattooing his first tattoo, he was hooked.  You can tell he loves what he does.  He was very patient and focused, even with my super simple design.

He was even willing to listen to me ramble about my Peruvian travels while he worked.  Not that he had much of a choice since he was in the middle of tattooing me, but he did ask what the tattoo meant… So, he was sort of asking for it… (Pro tip – find something that the other person you’re talking to is passionate about and ask them questions.  They’ll love you.)  Lee was awesome, but speaking of what the tattoo meant –

 

The Tattwo 😉

It’s so simple and pretty and I’m in love.

When people ask me what it is, I usually impulsively answer “Two lines and a triangle”.  I’m not intentionally being a smarta** when I respond, it’s just what it is.  A simple geometric design I came up with during my meditations on our Machu Picchu hike.

fullsizeoutput_df7

The two lines came from an early meditation where I traced two natural parallel veins in a rock while I connected with the earth.  I realized that I was one of so many people that have hiked this mountain, that have meditated there, that have rested there, that have struggled there.  I am so small in the present, and even smaller when compared to the past.  I want to take my smallness and make it great – do things I love, love people I love, leave behind a small life that I can be happy with.

The triangle represents the heart of the mountain.  Montaña Machu Picchu had a heart of beautiful green stone.  We stopped here to meditate again on where our heart lived and where it wanted to be.  I’ve tipped the triangle it on its side as a reminder of my mantra as I struggled through the hike – “Keep moving.  The next step will come.”  There were times on that hike that I wanted nothing more than to stop moving, to walk slower, to take a break.  You don’t get where you want unless you keep moving though.  Forward is ideal, sure.  But sometimes you have to move backwards, or sideways to reposition yourself for success.

Sorry, I don’t have a picture of the tattoo when it’s not upside down or wrapped.  I keep forgetting to ask someone else to take one so that it’s the right way up and unwrapped.  I’ll post an update when I remember to have someone take one.

 

Like I said earlier – Lee was awesome and I highly recommend him.  If you want to learn more about Immortal Images or Lee, you can check out their website or drop into the shop!

 

I hope you all have a good week and Keep moving – whether its forward, or sideways, or a little backwards (don’t get too discouraged with this one).  Movement is movement and I can promise, the next step will come.

x-bex-1

 

Leave a Reply

