The Quest for the Cookie

Happy Father’s Day!

To all the people dads out there, and the pupper (or kitty) dads out there, and the men-who-influence-our-lives-but-aren’t-our-biological-father dads out there – You’re awesome and I appreciate you for everything you do.  Everything.  Even walking into the room to fart and walk back out again. (Not that my dad does that… Not that he doesn’t…)

I am a really lucky girl to have a dad like mine.  He’s funny, kind, generous, clever, smart, and patient.  He’s a big picture kind of guy, always thinking up something great or imagining the next best thing.  Thankfully he passed a good number of these traits down to me. (Particularly my humor and my social preferences)

My dad has been with me through the thick and thin – listening to me when I need to talk through a hard decision or the perfect sounding board when I’m trying to work through a problem.  He supports me in all my decisions and pushes me when I get discouraged.  He’s always there to listen when I’m upset but is also always ready to call me out when I’m being slightly irrational (which happens more than I would like to admit).

Even my friends love my dad.  And I quote “Is your dad around? I want to chill with him.  Oh, and it’s okay if you’re there too.” (No joke, I’ve heard varieties of this since I introduced him to my friends in college…)

All in all, he’s been the best dad for me and my brother.  A better dad than we deserve, based on some of our shenanigans.  (Granted, our propensity for shenanigans came from him too, so he really can’t complain.  We’re tame compared to some of the stories I’ve heard about his adolescent and young adult years.)

Another thing about my dad – he loves chocolate chip cookies. (I got that from him too)

It is partially for my father (partially for myself) that I am on a very important journey.

The Quest for the Cookie.

I am determined to find the BEST chocolate chip cookie recipe or perfect one myself.  So today, on Father’s Day, I’m trying another recipe. Which is why this blog is so late… I’m literally baking them as I’m writing this at 8:45 pm.

As of this moment, I can tell you 2 things – This recipe was SUPER easy and the dough tastes incredible.  Other than that, I’ve got nothing.  My first batch is in the oven.

 

I used this recipe this time and I’m really excited about it.  It’s another Buzzfeed recipe like I used to bake the Cannoli cupcakes from Easter.

Like I said, it was super, super simple.

 

The Steps:

  1. Heat the oven – 350°F (or 180°C)
  2. Mix all the butter and sugars and salt together until pasty and delicious looking. (Don’t worry if yours doesn’t look like the same amount as mine – I doubled the recipe so I could take some into work tomorrow.)
  3. Add the egg and vanilla until the pre-dough is a pretty tan color and falls in smooth ribbons. I had to be very careful with this step and fish out some accidental egg shell that fell in. Yum, crunchy.
  4. Sift the flour and baking soda and mix them in. The recipe warns not to over-mix because the cookies will get cakey.  I was really nervous about it.
  5. Add in the chocolate chips!!!  I splurged and use Ghirardelli chips. YUM. And then, let the dough sit. I was too impatient for the whole “let the dough sit” part.  I put it in the fridge for about 30 minutes because I really wanted cookies.  I’m hoping they still turn out alright.  I might leave some dough in the fridge overnight and bake more tomorrow to see if there really is a difference in the cookie the longer the dough sits.
  6. Scoop the dough. I used a cookie (or ice cream) scoop like the recipe recommends.  It made HUGE cookies.  I prefer smaller bite size cookies, but these will do. 😉
  7. Bake for 12-15 minutes. Let cool. Enjoy. (Don’t mind if my dad and I do!)

 

I hope all the dads out there enjoyed their day.  And that my dad enjoys these cookies.  I’ll let you guys know if they’re actually delicious!

 

Happy Father’s Day, Dad!  Thanks for being the best Dad. (Although, 23 years and a few days ago I made you a dad – so maybe you should be thanking me?)

Until next week guys – Eat some cookies!

x-bex-1

 

 

 

 

 

Update:

The cookies came out really flat and crunchy.  Not our favorite type of chocolate chip cookie.  More research will need to be done to determine why they came out so flat and how I can remedy it for the next cookie attempt. (If anyone has some ideas, I’d love the help…)

Leave a Reply

