It’s a Mom-mazing day!

 ¡Hola Amigos! Hello from Peru!

So, as you all know, I’m in Peru right now.  This being said, I tried to make sure I wrote blog posts before I left so that I could be sure that you were still getting your weekly dose of Bex.

In case you were unaware, or aren’t from the US, (I have some readers from other countries – isn’t that COOL?) it’s Mother’s Day today!

Moms are the best.  And they don’t even have to be related to you to be fantastic.  We all have strong and incredible women in our lives that have had an influence on us in one way or another.  They’ve raised us, whether it was over years or out of a ditch we stumbled into on our way down the path of life. They’re patient when they don’t think they can be, and calm when they don’t want to be, and loving even when they’d rather tie you to a tree in the middle of the woods and leave you there.

It takes a lot to be a mom.  I can’t imagine it, and I don’t know that I would ever be good at it (if I decide to do that one day) but these women- these women did it.  And they did it well.  And they still do it well.

Without further ado, in no particular order, my favorite Moms:

 

Mrs. Bennet

 

article-2337371-1a32479d000005dc-455_634x345

Mrs. Bennet from the 2005 movie adaption of Pride & Prejudice (Borrowed from here)

That’s right.  Mrs. Bennet. From Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.  If you haven’t read Pride and Prejudice, you should know that Mrs. Bennet’s main goal in the ENTIRE novel is to see her daughters married off successfully and proceeds to be an embarrassment to her two eldest daughters the entire story.

While Mrs. Bennet may be exceedingly foolish and an absolutely ridiculous woman, she was an INCREDIBLE mom in the sense that she only wanted the absolute best for her daughters. I sit here and can’t imagine my mom solely wanting to marry me off, however, back then, getting married, and marrying well, was how a young woman was secured a prosperous life.  You go, Mrs. Bennet – you marry off those girls (granted the girls generally got themselves hitched on their own accord… But we’ll give Mrs. Bennet some credit for birthing strong and wonderful women like Jane and Elizabeth).

 

Molly Weasley

 

20162f32f32fjulie-walters-molly-weasley

Molly Weasley (Borrowed from here)

Another fictional woman, yes, but also the most kick-a** fictional mom around.  If you’re a Harry Potter fan, you know exactly what I’m talking about- if you’re not, Molly Weasley is the mother of the entirely redheaded Weasley clan from the Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling. Both tender and strong, she loves her son’s best friend, Harry, like he is her own, in addition to protecting her own children with her life.

Without spoiling anything for those who haven’t read the books, Molly comes to the aid of her daughter during a wild magic duel with the battle cry: “NOT MY DAUGHTER, YOU BITCH” [sorry Mom, it was a direct quote…] (pg. 736, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows).  Can you say FIERCE? I could nerd out about this woman forever, but I don’t want to bore you all.

 

Mrs. K

Mrs. K (an alias to protect her true superhero identity) isn’t my real mom, but she has known me for almost half my life.  She knew me and took care of me even in my awkward, chunky, weird middle school girl phase.  A woman with a strong, STRONG dislike of feet (maybe she’s where I get it from) was even willing to touch one of mine after I sprained it during a soccer game last fall. I have fond memories of Mrs. K pelting us with frozen grapes in while we swam in her backyard pool (that sounds abusive, but it was actually a delicious snack) and cheering loudly on the sidelines during our soccer games.

I think my favorite thing about Mrs. K is her ability to make people laugh, especially my Mom.  You can’t take these two out in public without one of them crying from laughter (usually Mrs. K) and the other threatening to pee her pants, also from laughter (usually my Mom).  And god forbid you take them into a Bed, Bath, & Beyond and one of them accidentally farts in the cleaning supplies section.  Talk about laughter, pee, AND tears.

 

Mom

Of course, I can’t write a blog post about Moms without talking about my own.  My Mom.

People tell me a lot that we look alike (it’s got to be in the face because our coloring couldn’t be more different).  My mom is patient and smart and kind and I don’t think she knows how beautiful she is.  (She likes to straighten her pretty chocolate curls sometimes, and I don’t understand it.  I’d give my uncooperative waves for fun and bouncy curls like that…)

I got my love of books from this woman. I can remember her saying to me when I was little that books were a vacation that you could take with you.  We used to race to finish the Harry Potter books – I don’t think she thought it was a race, but I did.  She always won, but I was like 12 so it wasn’t an even playing field.

One of the most literal people I’ve ever met, my mother is funny in her own right.  Trust me, I couldn’t be this hilarious without help from both parents.  (I know she’ll read that and roll her eyes because I’m jokingly immodest.)

There is so much I could write about my mother.  Like how much I appreciate when she listens to me and tells me I’m fine (and a little crazy) because I might slightly be a hypochondriac and sometimes I get a little anxious about the small things.  And how I love that she somehow has the magic touch and picks out the cutest clothes for me when I’m not with her.  Or how sometimes I catch myself tipping my head back to laugh, just like she does, just like my grandmother does. (I was sort of hoping that laughter trait would skip me… But I appreciate it nonetheless)  This isn’t even scratching the surface.

 

Thanks

So, Moms, both real and fictional, mentioned here and not, thank you for being awesome and wonderful.  Thank you for raising strong daughters and sons, both biological and adopted.

Thank you for making me smart and sassy and confident and a little bit wild.

One day, I hope I can be just a little bit like you.

To all the Moms- Happy Mother’s Day.

x-bex-1

 

PS- Sorry for the extremely long post, guys.  It’s just that Moms are AWESOME.

PPS- If you’re reading this, Mom, I miss you lots and can’t wait to see you in a week! Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

