Perusing Peru – a Before Letter

Dear future Bex,

By this time, we’ve been perusing Peru for almost a week now. I’m writing this letter before we leave for our grand adventure so that we have a baseline to compare to when we get home. I have so much hope for us, and for this trip. Our first big one out of the country. 20 days in a country where we don’t speak the language, and only understand bits and pieces of it.

What were we thinking?

It was a year ago. We were young (we still are), and restless (we still might be). We wanted adventure (we always will), and boy, do I hope we find it in Peru. Beautiful beaches, riding dune buggies and camping in the desert, hiking Machu Picchu, and more – our itinerary looks promising.

Don’t be afraid.

Don’t be afraid to make friends. I know we’re going to be the “stupid American” on a trip of Canadians, but hopefully, they’re chill. Be kind, be funny, be yourself – they’ll love us. (I mean, who doesn’t?)

Don’t be afraid to try new things. Try that dish of food that looks questionable. As long as it doesn’t have dairy or cilantro in it, you should be fine. Take that chance to learn to surf or to paraglide or to pet the Alpaca (surely they don’t bite that hard). When else will you get the chance to say “I did that in Peru”?

Don’t be afraid to live it all to the fullest. Stay up late, you can sleep on the buses and trains. Take the photo, write it down, live it. Be so present – don’t think about tomorrow or yesterday too much. Be in the now.

I’m not saying that your fears aren’t real. I’m saying we can conquer them. Embrace them, be ready for them. Show them who is boss. Grow.

Fall in Love.

Most of all, I hope we fall in love.

I hope we love Lima. I hope we find that Arequipa is a keep-ah. 😉 I hope we’re crazy for Cusco and Machu Picchu maniacs.

I hope we find that adventure suits us and that travel is our favorite companion.

Good luck, future Bex. All my love, pre-Peru Bex.

x-bex-1

UPDATE: Here are a couple fun shots from this week:

Leave a Reply

