If it looks like poop, and it smells like poop…

If it looks like poop, and it smells like poop, and it makes you cry at least once – you may be looking at my week this week.

 

Uh, Bex… That’s both gross and not what we come here for…

Yea, sorry guys. I’ve been in a weird funk all week. I even tried making cookies TWICE to bake the funk out of me, but it didn’t work.

Before you ask for my super-secret recipe for these AWESOME green St. Patrick’s Day cookies, I must admit: I used the recipe on the bag of Nestle mini-chips.  My only alterations: the recipe called for chopped nuts but I left those out and instead added 15-20 squirts of some gel food coloring to turn them the lovely shade of green you see.

The cookies were a huge hit at work, and a huge hit at home, and a huge hit in my tummy.  Even the raw dough was delicious! (And also, my downfall…)

fullsizeoutput_b16

 

Speaking of green things – Happy St. Patrick’s everyone!  I hope you were all safe and didn’t do anything I wouldn’t have done. Which, admittedly may not be much. (So hopefully you hit on a cute [married – oops] bartender like I did this weekend. 😉 But that’s a story for another time!)

 

BEX. You hit on a married bartender?!?

Yes.  I didn’t see his ring. This is not the point of this post, people. Keep up.

 

 

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 9.40.44 PM.png

“Expectation is the mother of frustration.” – Antonio Banderas (Check out Daisy’s other creations by being her friend or stalking her insta)

 

My friend Daisy posted this watercolor and hand lettering masterpiece that she created.  This quote pretty much sums up why my week was a steaming pile of poops.

 

I had great expectations for my workweek and for plans that I made and for the people in my life.  And this week, those expectations were not met, actually, most of those expectations were obliterated.  And I know it’s not fair for me to be frustrated with these people and things in my life.  These are things I cannot control.  What I can control are my expectations and how I handle the letdown.  This is something I’m working on, in addition to smoking hot six-pack abs.

 

For my St. Patrick’s Day, I had this expectation that I was going to get out of work early and go to a bar with my friends.  In reality, I got stuck at work late (boo), I had an errand to run that took twice as long as it should have (booo), and I started feeling sick (boooo).  So, I didn’t go to the bar, and I was frustrated and irritated.

Now.  I could have stayed home and wallowed in grief for my ruined plans and shattered expectations.  I didn’t.  I went on a date.

 

A DATE?!?

A date.  A spontaneous, incredible, romantic evening.  The best date I’ve been on in a long time.  Maybe even the best date I’ve ever been on.

I took myself to the movies to see Beauty and the Beast.

mv5bmtuwnjuxmtm4nv5bml5banbnxkftztgwodexmdqzmti-_v1_sy1000_cr006741000_al_

Movie poster borrowed from IMDb

Don’t worry, I won’t say anything more about it. No spoilers.  However, I will say that I’m planning to see it again.  It was beautiful and I loved it and I may or may not have cried a little bit.

There is something lovely about the self-love of treating yourself to something sweet.  For me this week, it was going to the movies.  I bought my ticket 15 minutes before show time, drove to the theater 12 minutes from my house, and snuck in snacks of cherry tomatoes and a protein bar.  I wore yoga pants and a comfy sweatshirt and couldn’t have been happier.

fullsizeoutput_b14.jpeg

Best. Date. Ever.

 

I hope you all show yourself a little bit of self-love this week.  Take yourself on a date.  Give yourself a hug. And be careful with those expectations.

Until next week!

x-bex-1

One thought on “If it looks like poop, and it smells like poop…

  1. Ah…no mention of last night’s shenanigans, I see. That’s ok. I’ve already heard about it.

    And for the record, it was totally worth the headache I had afterward. #concussionssuck

    Like

Leave a Reply

