I’m a Heathen with a Tear In My Heart and a Heavydirtysoul

 

Last weekend I went to the best concert of my life (so far):

Twenty Øne Piløts

(To be totally fair, it was also the first concert of my adult life.  I went to the American Idol concert for my 13th birthday when David Cook and David Archuleta were the two finalists… So it didn’t have to be that incredible to be the best, but trust me – it was INCREDIBLE.)

For those of you who don’t know, the title of this blog is a mash-up of three Twenty Øne Piløts songs. Heathens, Tear In My Heart, and Heavydirtysoul.

 

Last weekend was actually a fun-packed weekend.  The concert was in Greensboro, so instead of driving all that way for just a concert, I turned it into a visit to my alma mater as well.  Also, conveniently, it was my friend Ryan’s birthday weekend (Happy 22nd B-day, Ry!)  – So many birds, one stone!

These two hooligans won’t ever let me take a normal picture… so this is what they get. 💁🏼

The Concert

Brian (he’s back!) and I went to the concert on Saturday night.  And OH BOY.

First, let me be honest – I was dressed ENTIRELY impractically.  I decided to try to be cute and wear a crop top and didn’t bring a jacket. Whoops.

It was February.  I don’t care what kind of bizarre spring weather we’re having, that was stupid.  We stood outside in line, my belly button bared to the brutal breeze.  Thankfully, we got to skip the extraordinarily long general admission line since we had numbered seats.  They were maybe 20 rows down from the top row of the entire colosseum, but they were seats.  And the music sounds just as good from up there.

The concert was incredible.  Did I say that yet?  It was INCREDIBLE.

 

Judah & the Lion

Judah opened first.  I hadn’t heard of this band before they were associated with this concert, but they were great!  So great, in fact, that I’m going to see them in March when they are coming to the Fillmore in CLT.  They had some much energy on stage and had so much fun.  In essence a folksy band, but they sang a rendition of T-Pain’s Booty Wurk which was a huge hit.

 

Jon Bellion

Jon Bellion was the second opener – and the real reason I bought the tickets to this concert.  I LOVE Jon Bellion, but I’m going to be honest… Sitting up so high and so far from the energy, he wasn’t as good as I was hoping.  I think the colosseum wasn’t the right venue for him.  I can’t wait to see him again in a more intimate setting.

 

TØP ❤ ❤ ❤

I don’t know where to start here.  I loved it.  And I’m now in love with the drummer, Josh. Maybe it’s because of his abs, maybe it’s because of his musical talent, probably it’s because of the abs.

 

img_2112

Yes, abs.

 

Both Tyler and Josh (TØP is a duo) did incredible stunts all throughout the concert – flips, crowd surfing, running over the top of the crowd in a plastic bubble, using a body double to appear in a different place in the arena, etc.  They were so incredibly active during the concert, it’s no wonder Josh has abs like he does.

 

fullsizeoutput_98e

At this point, he is drumming on a platform that is being held up by the crowd in the pit.  (He’s also shirtless. Abs.)

 

I promise you I loved every bit of the dancing and singing I did to the music all night on Saturday.  I was expecting to have a great musical experience- I was just so surprised by the abs…

Tyler sang their rendition of “Can’t Help Falling in Love” (the very song that makes me cry 75% of the time).  To Brian’s relief, I didn’t cry at the concert, but it was beautiful.

 

fullsizeoutput_993

Singing me to [almost] tears

TØP brought out Judah and Jon Bellion to play a couple throwbacks together mid-concert.  Together, they played Jump Around and No Diggity – both of which were a blast to dance to and sing at the top of our lungs.

 

fullsizeoutput_991

TØP, Judah, and Jon doing some coordinated boy-band dancing.

 

I would 100% go see them again, and maybe next time I’ll consider spending the ridiculous amount of money and get tickets for the pit.

 

Check in next week to see if I survived my first trip to Las Vegas…

Hopefully, we’re all super lucky over the next week! (I could use the money)

x-bex-1

Leave a Reply

