2017 – New Year, Same Sass

Hello out there!

Hello

Hello 

… I see not too many people have arrived yet – that’s totally alright. Greetings to those of you who are here and

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

(I tried to get as close to this year’s Color of the year – Greenery, according to Pantone)

For New Year’s Eve this year I went out with a friend and her boyfriend and one of his friends.

PAUSE. Am I single? Yes. Was the friend single? Yes. PLAY.

We were having a grand old time at my favorite bar (Flying Saucer in CLT – Highly recommend it if you are a beer fan) and midnight began to draw closer and closer.  That time that every single person seems to dread.

Enter my friend’s boyfriend: “If you want a midnight kiss, I’m sure [single friend] wouldn’t mind giving it to you.”

PAUSE. Am I single? Yes. Was the friend single? Yes. Am I looking? No. Would I need help getting a kiss if I were looking? No. PLAY.

Sass-pot me: “I picked up on [single friend]’s staring, and I appreciate the offer, but I think I’ll pass. I don’t believe in the voodoo magic of a New Year’s Kiss.”

Don’t get me wrong – I’m flattered that he was so concerned about my desires.  I’m touched that he cares enough about his girlfriend’s friend to take into consideration that I might feel awkward and lonely at midnight as couples all over the bar get their kisses to start the new year. (But who are we kidding – I’m a little [endearingly] awkward all year round.)  Sure, maybe he was just trying to help his friend get a kiss on New Year’s Eve.  None of that is the point.

The point is that I’m a young twenty-something woman who (sort of) knows what she wants and will go get it when she wants it.  If I wanted a kiss on New Year’s Eve, you best believe I would have managed to swing one.  (If not, it was just Fate’s way of telling me I got a little too cocky and need to take a seat.)

It’s like my tattoo says:

She was unstoppable and she took anything she wanted with a smile.

(An excerpt from poem #187 by R.M. Drake)

But actually – Welcome to my blog fellow travelers of life.  Consider joining me for the rest of my adventures – I can promise some sass, some traveling, at least a dozen cookies, and hopefully a lot of laughter (at least I’ll be laughing…)

x-bex-1

Leave a Reply

